Michigan Driver’s License Law Information Center
At Grabel & Associates, our Michigan driver's license reinstatement attorneys want to educate Michigan residents in regards to state laws involving drivers licenses, revocation, suspension, violations, and other areas relevant to your driving privileges.
We understand having the privilege to drive is critical to everyday life. A driver's license is a necessity; otherwise, it becomes difficult or impossible to get to and from work, school, doctor appointments, or to fulfill family obligations. Below we will briefly cover a few areas related to driver's license laws in the state of Michigan.
Revocation of Driver's License in Michigan
Individuals who are convicted of a drunk driving offense twice within a seven-year period will have their license revoked for life. The courts do not grant restricted licenses, but you may request a hearing with the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight section of Michigan Secretary of State upon reaching your eligibility date. There is no guarantee that your license will be restored by requesting this hearing; you must provide clear, convincing evidence that you no longer consume alcohol and are no longer a driving risk. This involves substantial documentation; you should obtain the guidance of a lawyer who is experienced in this area of the law.
Driver's License Suspension
An individual's driver's license may be suspended for a number of reasons, however most are related to driving under the influence of alcohol or drug offenses. Certain violations will result in the SOS (Secretary of State) automatically suspending your license. Suspension are generally less serious than revocation, and carry a defined time period (i.e. "from" and "through" date). For instance, a first-time DUI offender will face a 30-day license suspension, followed by 150 days restricted license. We can help you get your license restored.
Mandatory actions may be taken by the SOS against your driver's license if convicted of certain offenses. You may be able to obtain a restricted license by petitioning the Circuit Court; however it is not guaranteed that you will be eligible for a hardship appeal.
Some of the offenses which will result in mandatory suspension of your license by the Secretary of State include reckless driving, OWI, open intoxicants in vehicle, fleeing and eluding, and refusal to take a breath test. Your best defense to mandatory license sanctions is having a seasoned Michigan driver's license lawyer on your side for support and guidance.
Teen (Underage) Drivers Suspension
In Michigan, teen drivers face harsh penalties for various offenses, including suspension of their drivers' licenses. Drug offenses, those involving alcohol, and texting/talking on a cell phone while driving may result in license suspension. In the state of Michigan, a teen's license may be suspended even if he/she was simply found to be in possession of alcohol.
Points System in Michigan
Points may be assigned to your driving record for various traffic violations in Michigan. If you receive a traffic ticket and ignore it, or are convicted of an offense such as reckless driving, OWI, operating a vehicle while under the influence of a Schedule I drug, fleeing or eluding police or other violations, you will have points posted to your record. Even speeding only 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit will result in 2 points being assigned by the DMV; more serious offenses will result in as many as 6 points being assigned to your driving record.
Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC) - Reduce Points in Michigan
Having points assigned to your driving record can result in higher auto insurance premiums, or your provider dropping coverage altogether. The BDIC, or Basic Driver Improvement Course, helps individuals who have committed certain traffic violations keep points off of their driving records. This course must be taken within 60 days of receiving a ticket; the individual considering the course must have no more than two points on his/her record, and possess a valid non-commercial license. There are certain eligibility criteria which must be met.
Driver's License Status - Driving Record Reports in Michigan
In Michigan, you can check your driver's license status by obtaining a driving record report. In essence, this report will let you know if your license is currently valid, and what is on record at the DMV if your driver's license has been suspended or revoked. The driving record report will also show you if there are any points against your license. This report is available to law enforcement agencies, insurance companies, and potential employers. If you desire to get a copy of your driving record report, you can purchase one from the Secretary of State.
For assistance with any driver's license issue including suspension or revocation, contact us online today. Our skill, experience, and knowledge regarding these issues make us very effective in reaching the results our clients expect and deserve. Call us at 1-800-677-9795 today.