Royal Oak Driver's License Restoration Attorney
Losing your driver’s license due to a suspension or revocation can present significant challenges in your life. Whether getting around Royal Oak, heading to Detroit, going to work, going to school or taking the kids to school, or participating in a myriad of other activities, you will need to rely on public transport, a bicycle, or your friends and family if you have a suspended or revoked license. Fortunately, there are several legal options available for Royal Oak residents who have lost their driver’s license.
Get back on the road and retake your freedom by contacting the Royal Oak driver’s license attorneys at Grabel & Associates. With years of experience and a 97% win rate at driver’s license review hearings, we are confident that we can find the ideal solution for you. In fact, when our driver’s license attorneys represent you, we guarantee that if you’re not successful in getting back your license in your first review hearing, we’ll continue representing you, free of charge, until you’re back on the road. No matter the reason for your license suspension or revocation, call our driver’s license law firm today at 1-800-677-9795
Reasons for a Driver’s License Suspension in Michigan
With the goal of reducing fatal or severe accidents on Michigan roadways, the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) reserves the right to suspend or revoke Michigan driver’s licenses when the driver is deemed to pose undue risk to other drivers. For instance, if you were arrested for a DUI, then the SOS may suspend your license for a set period of time. Below, we’ve listed some of the most common ways that you can lose your driver’s license in Michigan:
- Excessive moving violations — If you accumulate 12 or more points, then your license may be suspended or you may be required to take a Driver Assessment Reexamination or a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC).
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs — A first-offense for DUI, OWI, or alcohol- or drug-related driving offense may result in a 6-month suspension; after serving 30 days of the suspension, you may be eligible for a restricted driver’s license. A second offense within 7 years may result in a year-long suspension without the possibility for a restricted license.
- Driving with a suspended license, no license, or no insurance
- Certain driving-related violations — You can get your license suspended for reckless driving, being at-fault in a fatal accident, or abandoning your vehicle on a public highway.
- Certain Non-driving violations — You can get your license suspended for not appearing to a mandatory court appearance, failing to pay traffic tickets, or for not paying child support.
Driver’s License Hearing Request
If you receive a driver’s license suspension or revocation, you can challenge the State’s decision by requesting a hearing in court. To do so, you’ll need to complete a Request for Driver License Appeal Hearing form. After completing this document, you can mail or fax it to the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight section of Michigan Secretary of State, located at:
P.O. Box 30196
Lansing, MI 48909-7696
Fax: (517) 335-2190 or (517) 335-2189
During the license hearing request, you’ll need to prove to an administrative law judge or an SOS representative that your driver’s license shouldn’t be suspended.
Driver’s License Reinstatement Process in Michigan
The driver’s license reinstatement process in Michigan varies depending on the unique circumstances that led to the suspension or revocation. If the suspension or revocation was associated with drunk or drugged driving, you may need to prove to the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight section of Michigan Secretary of State that you’re sober and will refrain from driving under the influence. For instance, to prove your sobriety, you may need to include:
- A laboratory report from a 12-panel urinalysis drug screen
- Documentation of sobriety, such as three to six notarized letters of reference backing up claims of your sobriety
- Evidence of a support group, such as AA
- The ignition interlock report
- Any additional evidence
Before getting your driver’s license back, you may also need to pay the $125 reinstatement fee, and satisfy any other requirements associated with the suspension.
Call the Royal Oak Driver’s License Attorneys Today
Losing your driver’s license to a suspension or revocation can be a harrowing affair, especially since getting around the Royal Oak and Detroit area without a vehicle can be substantially difficult. Fortunately, by getting the expert driver’s license attorneys from Grabel & Associates on your side, you can discover a legal solution optimal for your situation. To speak with our attorneys regarding your case, call our Michigan driver’s license law firm today at 1-800-677-9795.