Livonia Driver's License Restoration Attorney
Livonia is a large suburb right on the outskirts of the Detroit-Metro area, and it had the unfortunate title of being #2 in the National Motorists Association’s 2012 poll for "Worst Speed Trap Cities" in North America. The fact is, speeding tickets and other citations are fairly common in the Livonia area, and as any Livonia residents can tell you, getting around the area with a suspended or revoked license is incredibly difficult. In fact, tell someone living in Livonia that they’ll need to rely on the Detroit Department of Transportation to get around, and they’ll probably resort to getting a bicycle.
Therefore if the Michigan Secretary of State has suspended or revoked your driver’s license, whether due to a DUI, too many points off your license, or for any other reasons, don’t hesitate and call the Livonia driver’s license attorneys at Grabel & Associates. We will work to strengthen your license reinstatement case and help you through your driver’s license hearing as much as possible with the goal of increasing your success for winning. If you don’t win in a driver license hearing, we will continue representing you, free of charge, until you are back on the roads again. For a free consultation with the driver’s license attorneys at Grabel & Associates, call our Michigan law firm today at 1-800-677-9795.
Driver’s License Suspension After a DUI
After a first DUI, your license will be suspended for a specific period of time. Subsequent DUIs, or charges for driving under the influence of drugs, result in a longer suspension period, or even a revocation. For instance, some DUI-related suspensions can include:
- A first DUI/OWI conviction can result in a 30-day suspension of your license, followed by 150 days of restricted driving privileges.
- If you were arrested with a BAC on 0.17 or higher, you may face a mandatory one-year suspension, and the driver may be eligible for a restricted license after 45 days of serving the suspension.
- A second DUI/OWI within 7 years will result in a license revocation of a year.
- A third DUI/OWI within 10 years will result in a license revocation for a minimum of five years.
There are several other laws regarding license suspensions and DUIs in Michigan. Under Michigan’s Zero Tolerance law, drivers under 21 convicted of driving while intoxicated may face a 30-day restricted license (for first offense) or a 90-day suspension (for a second offense within seven years).
Additionally, Michigan law requires some driver’s license suspensions for drug convictions, even if you weren’t driving at the time of the arrest. For instance, a first drug conviction could result in a 6-month suspension (after serving 30 days, you may apply for a restricted license).
Fortunately, for certain drunk driving convictions in Michigan, you can keep your driving privileges and obtain a restricted license after admittance into a sobriety court. Secondly, you will need to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. To be eligible for the Sobriety Court program, you need approval from one of the courts within Michigan that meets the requirements for Sobriety (DWI) Court.
Suspension After Earning Too Many Points
Accumulating 12 or more points against of your license for moving violations and traffic citations is also another common reason for a license suspension. To understand the Michigan point system, look no further than the Michigan Vehicle Code. As a quick summary, however, here are some of the point values for some common traffic violations:
- Driving 10mph or less over the speed limit
- Open alcohol container in vehicle
- All other moving violations of traffic laws
- Careless driving
- Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign
- Improper passing
- Driving 11 to 15mph over the speed limit
- Drag racing
- Operating while visibly impaired
- Driving 16mph or more over the speed limit
If you have earned too many points, you may be eligible for a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC) course, which is designed to improve driver safety while reducing points.
Also, it is important to note that some driving violations will result in a mandatory license suspension. For instance, you can automatically get your license suspended for infractions such as reckless driving, fleeing and eluding an officer, DUI/OWI, and refusing a breath test.
Driving With a Suspended License
While your license is suspended, you should never drive. In Michigan, the penalties for driving with a suspended license are severe, including an increased license suspension, fines and driver's responsibility fees, and even incarceration.
Call Grabel & Associates for a Livonia Driver’s License Attorney
At Grabel & Associates, we have remained as some of the leading driver’s license attorneys in Livonia for years. Our law firm boasts a 97% success rate at driver’s license hearings, and if we’re not able to get your license back, we will continue representing you, free of charge, until you’re back on the road. Whether you’re preparing for a license reinstatement or preparing for a DAAD/DLAD hearing, call our law firm today at 1-800-677-9795. Free consultations, including emergency consultations 24/7, are available.