Westland Driver's License Restoration Attorney
Losing your license can be a stressful, difficult experience. If your license was suspended or revoked, you may be wondering how you’ll be able to get around town, given that public transportation in Westland is quite sparse. Fortunately, when facing these issues, you can have a dedicated team of attorneys at your side with Grabel & Associates — Westland’s leading team of driver’s license attorneys.
Whether your license was suspended due to moving violations, DUI or drug-related convictions, or other reasons, we’ll help you get back on the road through our in-depth knowledge of Michigan traffic law and our unique ability to work with clients one-on-one to find the best legal solution possible. With a 97% success rate representing clients at driver's license review hearings, your case will also have some of the top-rated driver’s license attorneys in the state. If you lost your license due to a suspension or revocation, call Grabel & Associates today at 1-800-677-9795. Free consultations are available 24/7.
What Happens to a License After a DUI
One of the most common reasons for a license suspension or revocation in the Westland area is due to a DUI. The State of Michigan takes a strong stand against intoxicated and/or impaired drivers, and after a guilty conviction of a DUI, even if it’s your first, you may be looking at a 6-month driver’s license suspension. You may be eligible for a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension.
The length of the suspension may be higher if aggravating circumstances are present; for instance, if you have a BAC of 0.17 or higher upon your arrest, then you may be facing a minimum 1-year suspension (restricted license possibly available after serving 45 days of the suspension). If you have multiple drunk or drugged driving citations, you may be facing even harsher license restrictions.
After serving the suspension term, you will need to pay a $125 license reinstatement fee, and you may have other fines as well, including:
- A Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000 for 2 consecutive years for a DWI conviction
- A Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 for 2 consecutive years for convictions for DWI with any presence of a Schedule 1 drug or cocaine, or child endangerment
License Suspension for Other Reasons
DUI is certainly not the only reason for a suspended license, as excessive point violations and other State law violations can result in a suspended driver’s license. As a quick overview, some of the ways to get your license suspended include:
- Accumulating 12 points or more on your driver’s license for moving violations
- Driving with a suspended license or no license
- Driving without insurance
- Other driving-related violations such as reckless driving, being at fault in a fatal accident, or abandoning your vehicle on a public highway
- Physical or psychological disqualification
- Not paying child support, failing to pay traffic tickets, not responding to a Secretary of State notice, or not appearing in court
- Stealing motor vehicle gas
- Evading/fleeing from a police officer
- Using an ID unlawfully if under 21
License Reinstatement Process in Michigan
To get your license back after a DUI, excessive point violations, or other reasons, you will need to reinstate your license. At the time of the suspension, you can contest your driver’s license suspension by requesting a Michigan SOS administrative hearing. In this situation, an administrative law judge or the SOS representative will hear your case and determine whether or not your license should be suspended.
After serving the suspension term, the Michigan SOS should send you a notice saying that you completed the suspension. However, before you can start driving again, you’ll need to go through the license reinstatement process. Generally, you’ll need to pay a restoration fee of $125. If you’re considered a habitual alcohol offender, you may need to appeal to the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight section of Michigan Secretary of State. In other cases, you may need to apply for a standard license renewal.
Contact the Leading Westland Driver’s License Attorneys
Operating a motor vehicle in Michigan is a privilege that must be maintained through careful and safe driving. Nonetheless, losing your driver’s license can be a stressful experience, especially in the car-mandatory areas around Westland. Whether you’re appealing the suspension, attending a hearing with the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight section of Michigan Secretary of State (also known as the Administrative Hearings Section), or facing any part of the license suspension process, make sure to get leading legal help by contacting the driver’s license attorneys at Grabel & Associates. We have a 97% success rate at driver's license review hearings, and we can help you through this legally complex process. For a free consultation regarding your case, call our Michigan driver’s license law firm at 1-800-677-9795.