Driving Without Insurance in Michigan
Driving without insurance in the state of Michigan is highly risky, and could leave you facing fines as well as suspension of your driver's license. At Grabel & Associates, we understand that there are situations in which an individual cannot afford auto insurance, or simply forgets to pay the premiums and coverage lapses. However, it is important that you understand the risks you are taking when driving on Michigan's roadways without insurance.
Motorists in Michigan are required to have no-fault car insurance, according to the Secretary of State's website. No-fault coverage provides property protection, personal injury protection in case you are injured in a car accident, and residual bodily injury/property damage liability insurance. In most cases, motorists who have no-fault insurance coverage are protected from a lawsuit in the event of an accident, except under very specific circumstances.
Biggest Dangers of Driving Uninsured in Michigan
There are several risks you take when you operate a motor vehicle in the state without having no-fault insurance coverage.
If you are uninsured and injured in an accident, you will be responsible for paying your own medical bills. You will also not be compensated for pain and suffering, or reimbursed for vehicle/property damage or lost wages if the accident was the fault of the other driver.
Uninsured motorists may be held responsible for payment of other individuals' lost income, medical costs, pain and suffering, vehicle damage, and more. In fact, MCL 500.3177(1) dictates that even if the other party is completely responsible for the accident, the uninsured motorist can be sued and held personally accountable for the other party's lost wages and medical bills!
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Driving without insurance in Michigan could leave you facing not only fines and license suspension, but jail time as well. No one who drives without insurance considers themselves criminals, but you could actually face criminal penalties. A maximum of one year in jail, and fines of between $200 and $500 are what you may find yourself facing if caught driving without insurance. Driving without insurance is a misdemeanor in Michigan, and according to MCL 500.3102(2) an individual convicted "shall be fined not less than $200 nor more than $500, imprisoned for not more than 1 year, or both."
The Secretary of State will suspend an uninsured motorist's driver's license as instructed by a judge when a driver cannot produce proof of insurance to police. In addition, license suspension may occur when you are the owner or registrant of a vehicle that is uninsured and was involved in an accident, which left another individual with injuries that resulted in lost wages and medical expenses. If you fail to pay a civil judgment your license may be suspended under MCL 257.511 and 257.512.
Contact Michigan Driver's License Attorney Scott Grabel Today
While there are many serious repercussions of driving without insurance in the state of Michigan, having your driver's license suspended impacts your life far more than you realize. The fact is, driving without coverage can cost you far more in the long run, as indicated above.
If your Michigan driver's license has been suspended due to lack of insurance coverage, contact our office today at 1-800-677-9795. Our firm is known across the state of Michigan for aggressive representation, and getting motorists back on the road.