Southfield Driver's License Restoration Attorney
If you live in Southfield, you may find yourself commuting to work every day in Detroit or the surrounding Metro areas. Perhaps your children go to Southfield High or Harrison High, Berkshire Middle or Bow Elementary. Whatever the case, losing your driving privileges in Southfield can wreak havoc on your life, making it difficult to complete even the most basic errands and tasks.
There are many ways to get your driver’s license suspended or revoked, but there are also many ways to get your license back. At Grabel & Associates, our Southfield driver’s license attorneys will earnestly fight to get your license back and get you back on the road. Whether helping you through and representing your case in a driver’s license hearing, or guiding you through an effective reinstatement process, our driver’s license attorneys will bring years of experience and comprehensive knowledge of Michigan laws and driver’s license processes.
Moreover, we have a 97% success rate at driver’s license review hearings. For the leading driver’s license attorneys throughout Michigan, call Grabel & Associates today at 1-800-677-9795.
Mandatory Suspension of Michigan Driver’s License
A suspension or revocation shouldn’t come as a surprise in many cases. Every traffic ticket in Michigan has a point value. If you’ve acquired too many speeding tickets or other moving violations, which collectively resulted in an accumulation of more than 12 points against your driver’s license, then your license may be suspended. In addition to a license suspension, you may be required to pay a Driver's Responsibility Fee and you may face increased auto insurance premiums. Additionally, the Secretary of State may require that you take a driving class.
What does come as a surprise, however, is a mandatory suspension of a Michigan driver’s license. There are several reasons that the Secretary of State could suspend your license, including:
- Reckless driving
- UDAA – Unlawfully Driving Away of an Automobile (a felony)
- Having open intoxicants in the vehicle
- Fleeing and eluding police
- Driving with a suspended license
- Refusing to take a breath or chemical test during a DUI/OWI stop
By petitioning the Circuit Court, you may be able to obtain a restricted driver’s license in some situations. However, in many cases of suspended or revoked license, you won’t be able to hardship appeal.
Drunk Driving and Mandatory Suspensions
If you were charged and subsequently convicted of a drunk driving charge, your license will be suspended for a certain period of time. The length of the suspension typically depends on the specific circumstances of the charge as well as the charge itself. For instance:
- DUI/OWI — There is a six-month suspension after even a first conviction, with the possibility of obtaining a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension.
- High BAC — If you are arrested for DUI with a BAC of .17 or higher, then you may be facing a mandatory one-year suspension, with the possibility of a restricted license after serving 45 days of the suspension.
- Second OWI — License revocation for a minimum of one year (minimum of five years if there was a prior revocation within seven years).
- Causing Death or Serious Injury if Operating While Intoxicated — License revocation for a minimum of one year (minimum of five years if there was a prior revocation within seven years).
- Zero Tolerance (under the age of 21) — For first offense, restricted license for 30 days; for second offense within seven years, license suspension for 90 days.
Furthermore, it is important to note that you could have license revoked for life if you have two DUIs in a seven-year period, or three DUIs in a ten-year period.
Getting a Suspended or Revoked License Back
No matter the circumstances surrounding your license suspension or revocation, the first step in getting back your suspended or revoked license is to call a prominent and experienced driver’s license attorney.
To have your license restored after a DUI/OWI, you may need to request a hearing before the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight section of Michigan Secretary of State,formerly known as Administrative Hearings Section (AHS). For this hearing, you’ll need to complete and file a Request for Driver License Appeal Hearing form, and you will also need a Substance Abuse Evaluation (SOS-258) as well as notarized letters from the community, and other documentation proving your sobriety.
In cases where your license was suspended due to moving violations, you may be required to take a driver assessment reexamination.
Call Grabel & Associates for Your Driver’s License Attorney
Grabel & Associates has been representing Michigan driver’s in the Southfield area for decades, and we are prepared to help you too. Whether you need help reinstating your license or if you want legal representation during your hearing, we will diligently examine your case and aim to make your case as strong as possible. In fact, we have a 97% success rating at driver’s license review hearings, and we have a written guarantee — If you are not successful in obtaining driving privileges at your hearing with us at your side, our firm will represent you free of charge until you are back on the road.
To speak with the leading driver’s license attorneys in the Southfield area, call our law firm today at 1-800-677-9795. Consultations are always free, and we accept emergency consultations 24/7.