Kalamazoo Driver's License Attorney
One of the nice things about Kalamazoo is that, even if you don’t have your driver’s license, you can still get around the city with relative convenience. The city is bicycle-friendly and the KMetro functions fairly well. However, when you need to get around the city quickly and at your own convenience, or when heading outside Kalamazoo, having a suspended or revoked driver’s license can impose heavy restrictions. At Grabel & Associates, we understand the stress and difficulties associated with not having a license, and our Kalamazoo driver’s license attorneys have the experience and in-depth legal insight to help you get your license back.
For a free consultation with our driver’s license attorneys, 24 hours a day and seven days a week, call Grabel & Associates at 1-800-677-9795. Below, the following article describes some facts about suspended or revoked driver’s licenses that you need to know.
Driver’s License Suspensions and Revocations Due to OWI
Following an arrest for DUI, OWI, OUIL, and other drunk driving offenses, you’ll be facing more than just imprisonment and fines; you may also face a suspension of your driver’s license. Even if it’s your first offense, you may lose your license. Subsequent offenses may result in longer suspensions, and possibly the revocation of your driver’s license. In essence, this means that your license will be terminated and you’ll need to reapply to get it back.
The suspensions for a DUI or related offense include:
- A first DUI conviction can result in a 6-month suspension. After serving 30 days of the suspension, you may be able to apply for a restricted license for 150 days.
- A second DUI conviction within 7 years can result in a revoked license for one year.
- A third DUI conviction within a 10-year time period can result in a revoked license for a minimum of five years.
Remember, even after the suspension or revocation period, you aren’t guaranteed the return of your license. Upon reinstatement or reapplication of your license, you may have to satisfy several other requirements, such as proof of your sobriety via a 12-panel drug test, letters of reference attesting to your sobriety, and other proof of sobriety.
Driver’s License Suspensions Due to Moving Violations
In addition to DUIs and alcohol- or drug-related suspensions, you can also lose your Michigan driver’s license for accumulating too many moving violations. According to the Michigan point system, if you get 12 or more points on your record in a two-year period, your license may be suspended or you may be tapped for a Driver Assessment Reexamination. You can find out if your license is suspended, or how many points are on your driving record, by ordering a driving record report from Michigan Secretary of State.
Below, we’ve included a sample of various offenses and the points associated with them (for a complete list, refer to Michigan’s Vehicle Code):
- Operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Reckless driving
- Unlawful blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more
- Refusal to take a chemical test
- Fleeing or eluding a police officer
- Operating while visibly impaired
- Under 21 years old with any measurable blood alcohol content
- 16 MPH or more over the legal speed limit
- Failure to yield or show due caution for emergency vehicles
- Careless driving
- Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing
- 11 to 15 MPH over the legal speed limit
- Failure to stop at railroad crossing
- Failure to stop for a school bus, or disobeying a school crossing guard
- 10 MPH or less over the legal speed limit.
- Open alcohol container in vehicle
- All other moving violations of traffic laws
- Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under 21 years old
If you have accumulated too many points on your driver’s license, you may be able to reduce these points by taking a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC). In Kalamazoo, you can find an authorized BDIC course, sponsored by EIP, Inc (888-693-0336). The classroom location is at the Clarion Inn at 3640 East Cork Street.
Other Ways That Michigan SOS Can Suspend Your License
There are many other ways that the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) can suspend or revoke your license. Some of the other violations of traffic and State law that could result in a suspension include:
- Driving with a suspended license or no license
- Physical or psychological disqualifications
- Failure to pay traffic tickets
- Failure to appear in court
- Failure to pay child support
- Fake change of address
- Make a fake school bomb threat
- Stealing motor vehicle gas
Call the Top Driver’s License Attorneys in Michigan
As some of the leading driver’s license attorneys in Kalamazoo and throughout Michigan, the attorneys at Grabel & Associates are ready to take on your case and fight to get your license back. With decades of experience and a 97% success rate in driver’s license review hearings, we are confident that we can find a legal solution for you. In fact, if we don’t get your license restored at the first hearing, we will represent you, free of charge, until your driving privileges are restored. Call Grabel & Associates today for a free, no-obligation consultation at 1-800-677-9795. Emergency consultations are available 24/7.