Types of Drivers Licensing Actions in Michigan

In the state of Michigan, there are various actions which can be taken against an individual's driver's license, depending on various factors such as violations, your driving record, and how willing your are to comply with requirements and assessment recommendations set forth by the Secretary of State.

Driving is a privilege, and not a right, as some people mistakenly believe. Any action taken against an individual's driver's license will depend on that individual's driving record, type of violation, and whether the individuals participated in driving behavior considered unsafe, or that puts others’ lives and safety at risk.

Restricted, Suspended, and Revoked Driver's Licenses

The types of drivers licensing actions in the state of Michigan range from the least serious, which is restricted to revoked, which is the most serious.

A restricted license allows a person to drive to and from specific destinations such as work, school, or counseling programs, or at a set time of day, such as between 8 a.m. and 3 p.m. on specific days of the week. Restricted licenses are often allowed for drivers who have had their licenses suspended for DUI or other offenses, once the suspension period has passed. For example, a first-time DUI offender may have his or her license suspended for 30 days, followed by 150 days of restricted driving.

A suspended license means that the individual whose license has been suspended will not be able to drive for a certain time period. Suspensions carry a "from" and "through" date. Once the suspension period has passed, if no additional violations have occurred while the person's license was suspended, he or she may have it reinstated at a branch office by paying a reinstatement fee.

Revocations are the most serious licensing action of all in Michigan, and result in an individual's driver's license being revoked for a specific period, such as one year. When your license is revoked, it is in essence terminated. At the end of the revocation period, you may be eligible to reapply at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Even after the revocation period has passed, it is not a guarantee that your driver's license will be returned. The central issue is whether based upon testimony and documentation you provide, you can be trusted to drive in a safe and lawful manner.

Contact Driver's License Restoration Attorney Scott Grabel Now

Depending on the situation, it may be necessary to request a hearing before the DLAD, or Driver's License Appeal Division. This is particularly true when an individual has had his or her driver's license suspended or revoked for repeat DUI convictions, or who clearly has a problem with alcohol or drug abuse, which can result in a serious accident or even an accident causing death or great bodily injury.

Individuals whose driver's licenses have been suspended or revoked and who are not sure how to proceed in order to have their driving privilege restored should call our law firm immediately at 1-800-677-9795 or contact us online for a free consultation.

Please note: Recently DLAD/DAAD changed their name to the Administrative Hearings Section (AHS). Common use of the name AHS has not yet been widely accepted and the entity responsible for driver’s license hearings is still referred to as DLAD/DAAD in almost all legal areas, which is why we continue to use the term “DLAD/DAAD” throughout our website. More information about this change can be found at the Michigan Secretary of State’s website here.