Sterling Heights Driver's License Restoration Attorney


Suspended and revoked driver’s licenses in the Sterling Heights area can wreak havoc on people’s lives. For one, the public transportation around Sterling Heights is quite limited, with only a few stops throughout the day. Therefore, if the Michigan Secretary of State has suspended your driver’s license, call the Sterling Heights driver’s license attorneys at Grabel & Associates today. We understand how difficult it is to not have a driver’s license, especially in Michigan where wide expanses and cold weather discourage bicycling while public transport is extremely limited in many parts of the state.

Therefore, whether you’re reinstating your license, you want to appeal a suspension or revocation decision, or you need to get your license back as a Habitual Alcohol Offender, our driver’s license attorneys understand the legal process and we will fight to dramatically increase your chances of success. In fact, when it comes to driver’s license hearings, we have a 97% success rate. Our dedicated attorneys also offer a written guarantee saying that if you don’t obtain your driver’s license with us at your side, we’ll represent you free of charge until you’re back on the road.

For a free, no-obligation consultation with the leading driver’s license lawyers in the Sterling Heights area, call our law firm today at 1-800-677-9795. Emergency consultations are available 24/7.

License Penalties for DUI-Related Convictions

Convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs are some of the most common reasons for driver’s license suspensions and revocations in Michigan. Whether the driver was arrested for driving with a BAC of .09 or the driver was under 21 and violated Michigan’s zero tolerance laws, it’s important to know the license penalties for DUI-related convictions. For instance, some of these include:

  • A DUI (without aggravating or mitigating factors) can result in a mandatory 6-month license suspension, even for first convictions. However, after serving 30 days of the suspension, you may be eligible for a restricted driver’s license.
  • If you were convicted of a DUI and your BAC was 0.17 or higher (making the DUI a “High BAC” crime), you will face a mandatory one-year license suspension. After serving 45 days of the suspension, you may be eligible for a restricted driver’s license.
  • Multiple drunk or drugged driving convictions can result in driver’s license revocation.
  • Operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) or operating with any presence of a Schedule 1 drug or cocaine (OWPD) can result in a license suspension of 30 days, followed by 150 days of license restrictions.
  • Second offense of breaking Michigan’s Zero Tolerance law within 7 years can result in a driver’s license suspension of 90 days. If there is a prior DUI or drugged driving conviction, the license will be revoked for a minimum of one year (revocation for 5 years if there was a prior revocation within 7 years).
  • Second offense for open intoxicants can result in suspension of 30 days, followed by restrictions for 60 days (third offense results in a suspension of 60 days and 305 days of restrictions).
  • Using a fraudulent ID for purchasing alcohol can result in a suspension of 90 days for a second offense.

There are many other ways to lose your license for DUI-related convictions. For instance, your license will be revoked if your DUI-related offense caused serious injury or death.

Driver’s License Fees for DUI-Related Convictions

If your license was suspended or revoked, you may have to pay certain fees in order to get your license reinstated. Some of these fees include, but are not limited to:

  • A reinstatement fee of $125 if your driver's license was suspended, revoked, or restricted.
  • A Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000 for 2 consecutive years for a driving while intoxicated conviction, including a High BAC conviction.
  • A Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 for 2 consecutive years for convictions for driving while impaired, with any presence of a Schedule 1 drug or cocaine, or child endangerment.

Preparing for Your Driver License Hearing Request

In order to get their licenses reinstated, drivers arrested for DUI or OWI in Michigan are often required to plead their case before the Driver Assessment and Appeal Division (DAAD) of the Michigan Secretary of State. The DAAD/DLAD is also known as the Administrative Hearings Section (AHS).

At Grabel & Associates, we will provide experienced-backed guidance for helping you through the driver license hearing request. We boast in-depth knowledge and practical experience in front of every Hearing Officer in the State. Some ways that we can help with your driver license hearing request include:

We are also prepared to address specific issues regarding the suspension or revocation of a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).

Call Your Sterling Heights Driver’s License Attorneys

If you live in the Sterling Heights area and your license is suspended or revoked (or will be suspended or revoked), make sure to call the driver’s license lawyers at Grabel & Associates as soon as possible. In cases where you want to contest the decision to suspend or revoke your license, you have only 14 days to request a Michigan SOS administrative hearing.

Get back on the road by calling the leading attorneys at Grabel & Associates. Call today at 1-800-677-9795 for a free, no-obligation consultation.

Please note: Recently DLAD/DAAD changed their name to the Administrative Hearings Section (AHS). Common use of the name AHS has not yet been widely accepted and the entity responsible for driver’s license hearings is still referred to as DLAD/DAAD in almost all legal areas, which is why we continue to use the term “DLAD/DAAD” throughout our website. More information about this change can be found at the Michigan Secretary of State’s website here.