Driver's License Restoration Attorney in Lansing
With our driver’s license and traffic law firm located right in Lansing, we at Grabel & Associates are passionate about helping local residents and members of our community. At the same time, we’ve personally witnessed the devastating effects of a driver’s license suspension or revocation on people’s lives. With years of experience in traffic courts throughout Michigan, including right here in Lansing, you can count on the Lansing driver’s license attorneys at Grabel & Associates to give you a strong representation so that you have the best chances of winning your case.
Whether you’re trying to reinstate your driver’s license after a suspension or revocation, or you need to prepare for your driver's license appeal hearing, you can count on your driver’s license attorney to help you fully prepare your documentation to present a strong argument for your license reinstatement. In fact, our methods have resulted in a 97% success rate at driver's license review hearings. Furthermore, we are so confident in our ability to help you through this complex process that we offer a guarantee — if you’re unable to retrieve your license after the first hearing, we will represent your case free of charge until you’re back on the road.
If you lost your license, don’t hesitate to contact your local driver’s license attorneys today. Call Grabel & Associates in Lansing at 1-800-677-9795.
Revoked and Suspended Driver's License Reinstatement
The process for getting your driver’s license back is entirely dependent upon the circumstances surrounding its suspension or revocation. For instance, if you received an automatic license suspension for refusing a breath or chemical test, you can request a hearing to contest the refusal. In this specific case, you must request the hearing within 14 days or your license will be suspended for a year. If you were convicted of a first or second DUI/OWI, then you may have to wait for a year to get your driving privileges restored, and even then, you may have to request a hearing before the AHS to prove your sobriety and, essentially, pledge safe driving habits.
In some cases, to reinstate your Michigan driver’s license after a suspension, you may need to:
- Complete the Application for Driver’s License Reinstatement
- Include the supporting documentation
- Pay the reinstatement fee ($125)
For a revoked license, you may need to reapply for your driver’s license.
Petitioning the Michigan SOS Driver Assessment and Appeal Division
When a driver’s license is suspended due to one or more DUI/OWI convictions (whether for alcohol or drugs), then you may need to go through the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight section of Michigan Secretary of State. In these hearings, you’ll essentially need to prove to the State that you are sober and capable of driving safely on public roads. To request your hearing, you’ll need to complete the Request for Hearing (SOS-257/258) form and send it to the following address:
Michigan Department of State
P.O. Box 30196
Lansing, MI 48909-7696
Phone: 888-SOS-MICH (767-6424)
In addition to the Request for Hearing form, you should also include all necessary documentation, including the Substance Abuse Evaluation form. Furthermore, if you’re petitioning the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight section of Michigan Secretary of State due to an alcohol- or drug-related offense, you may need the following documentation:
- A laboratory report from a 12-panel urinalysis drug screen
- Documentation of sobriety that includes three to six notarized testimonial letters (or three to six witnesses at your hearing) that testify as to your sobriety. These letters should contain the following information:
- The person’s relationship to you
- How often the person sees you
- How long the person has known you
- The last time the person saw or had knowledge of you drinking or using controlled substances
- The amount of alcohol or controlled substance the person knows you consumed on the last occasion
- What social activities you participate in involving alcohol or controlled substances
- The person’s knowledge of your past or current involvement in treatment or a support group
- Evidence of support, such as from AA or another structured support group
- The ignition interlock report, if applicable
It is important to note that if you fail to get your license back during this hearing, there is a one-year waiting period before you can request another hearing.
Contact the Top Driver’s License Attorneys in Lansing
If you have any questions regarding driver’s license suspension and revocation laws in Michigan, or if you need guidance on how to get your license back, make sure to call the aggressive driver’s license attorneys at Grabel & Associates as soon as possible. By calling our law firm, we will immediately send you an information packet outlining the process for scheduling your review hearing. We will also make sure that all documentation is thoroughly prepared so that you have the best chance of winning. To speak with your Lansing driver’s license attorney, call Grabel & Associates today at 1-800-677-9795. Free consultations are available.